College of Agriculture & Natural Resources
Animal & Avian Sciences

Mid-Atlantic Nutrition Conference

April 5-6, 2017, Hunt Valley Inn

The Mid-Atlantic Nutrition Conference (formerly the Maryland Nutrition Conference) is recognized as a premier educational event for the animal nutrition industry. Local, national, and international nutritionists share new, innovative, and practical research being conducted at universities, in industry and at government institutions. Regulatory issues and future opportunities are discussed. The program is focused on poultry, dairy, and equine nutrition.

Brought to you by the following affiliations: Maryland Feed Industry Council, University of Maryland, American Feed Industry Association, Pennsylvania State University, Rutgers University, University of Delaware, University of Pennsylvania - Veterinary School, USDA, Virginia Polytechnic Institute, West Virginia University.  

Feed Industry Council

President: Marty Adams, Southern States
Vice President: James McNaughton. AHPharma
Treasurer: Chris Olinger, Wenger Feeds
  • John Clark, Feedworks USA
  • Clay Zimmerman, Balchem
  • Randy Mitchell, Perdue
  • Preston Buff, American Feed Industry Association
  • Dave Nuttle, Perdue
  • Gary Howell, Perdue

Conference Committee

Coordinator: Jennifer Reynolds, University of Maryland
Chair: Marty Adams, Southern States

General Program

Chair: Preston Buff, AFIA

Poultry Program Committee 

Chair: Mike Persia, Virginia Tech
Co-ChairGina Harris, Heritage Poultry Management Services


  • Roselina Angel, University of Maryland
  • Robert Elkin, Penn State University
  • Gary Howell, Perdue Farms
  • James McNaughton, AHPharma, Inc.
  • Randy Mitchell, Perdue Farms
  • Joe Moritz, West Virginia University
  • Chris Olinger, Wenger Feeds
  • Paul Patterson, Penn State University


Equine Program Committee

Chair: Ashley Wagner, Probiotech 
Co-Chair: Amy Biddle, University of Delaware


  • Marty Adams, Southern States Cooperative
  • Amy Burk, University of Maryland
  • Tania Cubitt, Performance Horse Nutrition
  • Amy Iafolla, Triple Crown Feeds
  • Bridgett McIntosh, Virginia Tech
  • W. Burt Staniar, Penn State University
  • Ann Swinker, Penn State University
  • Carey Williams, Rutgers University

Dairy Program Committee

ChairGonzalo Ferreira, Virginia Tech
Co-ChairClay Zimmerman, Balchem


  • Tanya Gressley, University of Delaware
  • Rick Kohn, University of Maryland
  • Kevin Harvatine, Penn State University
  • Marie Krause, West Virginia University
  • Mike Westendorf, Rutgers University
  • John Clark, FeedWorks USA
  • Don Jaquette, ADM Animal Nutrition
  • Ian Shivas, Renaissance Nutrition
  • Matt Michonski, Cumberland Valley Analytical Services  
Maintained by the IET Department of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. © 2017. Web Accessibility