College of Agriculture & Natural Resources
Animal & Avian Sciences

Chair's Welcome!

The Department of Animal and Avian Sciences was formed in 1997 through the merger of the Animal Science, Dairy Science and Poultry Science Departments. Animal science is the study of domesticated animals used for food, biomedical research and leisure. Our department fulfills a tripartite mission of research, teaching, and extension. Departmental research programs are focused in four areas:

The Animal Science graduate program offers advanced training in each of these research focus areas. Learn More>>

Upcoming Events

Department Seminar Series
Every Tue. at 3:30 p.m.
Lecture Hall 0408


Department Newsletter

Read our latest Newsletter, which highlights faculty, staff, and student academic and research achievements.




Success at SETAC

At the annual SETAC meeting, Tyler Frankel received a travel award and Grace DeWitt placed 2nd in the poster competition.

Travel Grant

Ph.D. student Jicai Jiang has been awarded the Neal A. Jorgenson Genome Travel Grant in Livestock Bioinformatics for the Plant and Animal Genome XXV meeting.

Maryland's Best Is a Winner

Born on the Campus Farm, young Pax took his 1st win in a race. The win is significant for the breeding program.

State Fair Dairy & Beef Team

ANSC students help educate visitors about dairy cattle at the Maryland State Fair.


New Staff Member in Extension Office

The department welcomes Racheal Slattery, the new Coordinator of Dairy-Beef Extension Activities.


Faculty & Staff Cookoff 2016

12 cooks competed for the coveted ribbons in the Annual Faculty/Staff Cookoff, which was held on Sept. 22.

New Lecturer

Dr. Monica VanKlompenberg joins the department this Fall as an Animal Science Lecturer.


Young Scientist-Research Award

Dr. Kasey Moyes received the Northeast Region American Society of Animal Science and American Dairy Assocation Young Scientist Award.


Journal of Cell Biology publication

The Taneyhill lab recently had some of their research published in the Journal of Cell Biology. 


Article in Science

Dr. Taneyhill, as a member of the National Academy of Sciences Committee on Gene Drives Research: Recommendations for Responsible Conduct, has co-authored an article in Science.

PNAS Publication

The Hamza lab recently had some of their research published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.


Equine Studies Annual Report 

Equine Studies has released their 2016 Annual Report, which highlights their accomplishments and efforts in teaching, extension, and research.

4-H Horse Judging, Hippology Contests

The event allows 4-H members and their families to become familiar with our programs, facilities as well as to interact with faculty and staff.


ANSC Alumni Teaching in Liberia

ANSC alumni Anna and Nathan Glenn (Class of '12) have gone to Liberia to teach Agriculture.


Catching Up with the Campus Farm

An article written by ANSC alum Caroline Speiker was featured in the September issue of The Equiery.

Maintained by the IET Department of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. © 2017.